Thursday, December 30, 2010

The Buzz about TRACE


I first heard the news of one of my best friends getting hired at The W Hotel back in October; at which point the realization of such a socially prestigious connection hadn't hit me. After tonight's experience, I now understand.

We all know that the newest spots in town are always "the coolest"... for a while. After the shimmery cloud of novelty settles, we're usually left with something that resembles the place right down the street. I'm here to say this is not the case with TRACE.

I've always voiced my longing for a good hotel restaurant and bar here in Austin. I've been to most here in town and none have ever made me want to come back. Well, maybe my recent visit to TRIO at The Four Seasons was better than expected... but how many years did they take to figure that out??

So after hearing for weeks about The W and what TRACE has to offer, we made a plan to go: 4:30pm in the Living Room. But which one? There are four! This is Starwood Property's more modern and casual take on the lobby bar; which, I have to admit I kind of love. They've pulled off four separate spaces that offer four very different atmospheres and environments. Couches and pillows and rugs and fireplaces all invite you in after being greeted by about 12 cute valet guys... I was beginning to feel like I was on vacation!

I was the first to arrive (A'hem! Yes, I was actually on time) and plopped myself down on a smokey gray sectional sprinkled with brightly colored pillows, perfectly positioned for back support. I liked it already. Although the waitress took more than a few minutes to greet me, the drink I ordered, Black Peppercorn Martini, was good. A little on the sweet side, but who can resist a gin martini muddled with basil?? Not me.

C came out to greet us and so the VIP treatment began. He gave us a brief tour of the other spaces before moving us to The Secret Bar, aka The Red Room, and got us a cozy corner spot. All versions of red were strategically combined to produce a very rich and sexy feel... and at 5pm on the day before New Year's Eve, what more could you want?

While the bathrooms were not the easiest to find, I appreciated that they were individual rooms versus larger rooms with stalls. The honeycomb slate tiles kept the sleek feel while the miniature lamp fixtures next to the framed mirrors above the sink kept it warm. I especially liked the "vacant/occupied" airplane style lock system they each have.


We enjoyed a second round of cocktails before venturing to the actu
al restaurant for dinner: I ordered a French 75, a drink I thought had been around forever but I just discovered, is apparently easier to mess up than I thought. A recent experience at the Fleming's bar was disappointing but The Secret Bar must have a secret recipe... my French 75 was killer! I was very pleased to say the least.

I'll admit that from the str
eet, Lavaca that is, TRACE is very visible. Once you get inside the hotel and work your way in to one or more of the living rooms, it suddenly doesn't seem so clear. My advice is to just follow the hallways back... they all lead to the restaurant. It's maybe a total of 20 steps from the front door, but I did see a lot of guests asking where to go...

The entrance from the hotel is in a hallway lined with a wall of "floating" wine bottles, quite a welcoming site if you ask me. You cross the threshold
and into the restaurant bar you go. A zig-zag of bar counters lead you to the hostesses where behind them you see the dining space. Lush curtains hang from ceiling to floor while the mirror mosaics on the opposite wall give a touch of mystery. The half-moon booths offer comfy yet stylish seating with the tufted fabric and Victorian styling. Lighting wasn't an issue for us as we were naturally under a lower ceiling, but I can understand how other tables might feel a bit in the spotlight. C said that was one of his priorities before I even mentioned it, so I feel confident they'll figure it out.

There were five of us to start wi
th a possible two more to join. A gorgeous bar-level table of eight sat open, almost like it was waiting for us. Beautiful honey stained wood served as our table top leveled between two white pillars. Round silver starbursts were laid as our placemats beneath a pair of perfectly heavy utensils... just a simple fork and knife, nothing too fancy to crowd the table. The stools we sat in shouldn't be called stools, rather bar-level la-z-boys. I love it when they have cushioned seats and backs! To tip the beauty scale while being clever, they use Marine Upholstery disguised as luxurious white leather! What a great idea! Not to mention this means they don't have to worry about bringing in their outdoor furniture. How clever is that?!

We started with some Market Plates that C put together for us. Assorted cheeses and candied nuts with pork pate and fried olives- a perfect little snack for everyone. It was presented, along with the menus, on a plank of cherry-stained wood to emphasize the sustainable efforts of the restaurant. The menu focuses on farm-to-table products mostly grown and harvested in Austin and the surrounding areas so you can actually TRACE your food from start to finish.

We then decided on the main course. After asking our server about the Beef plate that A & I would share, I found out it was 4oz. of shortribs paired with 4oz. of Ribeye... all boneless! Hallelujah they've answered my prayers! Don't other restaurants realize we don't come to a nice dinner to get ribs under our nails and cut through the gristle from a bone-in steak? That's what I'm paying you guys for,
so do it for me.

I should have asked the Chef to come out so I could personally thank him, but instead I was enjoying the flavor of it all too much to think about anything else. The ribeye was cooked perfectly (med-rare) and the ribs were just so moist! I'm not much of a beef person, but every now and then it just hits the spot. Dessert was a must after I saw the Apple Huckelberry Cobbler with Lemon Thyme Ice Cream. A perfect sweet for two people but a little big for just me, the cobbler was yummy and not too bready. All too often restaurants over-do the streusel toppings and it ends up drying out the actual fruit. Not this time! It was well balanced and almost refreshing because of the not-too-sweet apple pieces.

As if we hadn't indulged enough, they brought out a tray of locally made square bon-bons with 'TRACE' on the top. Dark chocolate with Tito's Vodka and a bit of Chile spice at the end, a Milk Chocolate with Whiskey and a Semi-Sweet with Raspberry Liqueur. Had we not ordered dessert already, it would have been a wonderful surprise to satisfy the inevitable sweet tooth after a rich meal like that. Even so, we gobbled up every last bite.

After hearing so-so rev
iews from well-known locals and even people I see on a daily basis, I was a bit worried. Now I'm wondering what the hell they're thinking?! Everyone at our table enjoyed every bite, the service was great and the decor was nice and calm. What more do you need in a dining experience?
Five Stars from me!

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Sunshine & Lawn Chairs

Although baking my body in the sunshine is nowhere near healthy, I like to think that the Vitamin D I'm acquiring and pure relaxation is... and as I've said before, Mr. Boyfriend tells me I don't relax enough. I'd like to see the argument against taking a nap on a comfortable lawn chair with the sounds of a waterfall splashing softly in the distance.

I can't tell you how many times the phrase "I'm going to go lay out" (or some version of it) has left my lips during my life; growing up a swimmer, it was perfectly natural. Putting on my bathing suit first thing in the morning was (and is) like my version of coffee - it woke me up and got me energized. Now that I don't have actual swim practice to attend I can go strait for my bikini instead of my racing suit. Monday through Friday requires actual clothing, but thankfully, from March until October, the weekends are for the pool.

I could tell today was going to be one of the last days warm enough to bask in the afternoon heat before it gets replaced with true Fall temperatures. So, I happily tied on my suit, grabbed my best towel and threw on my sunglasses. It was only 3 o'clock and dinner wasn't until 7 - I had at least two good hours all to myself and the sun. On a whim, I grabbed the book I'm currently reading Shit My Dad Says, although almost every time I tell myself I'm going to read while at the pool I don't even get the publication out of my bag.

Maybe it's because the sun isn't as strong during this time of year as it is during the Summer (and therefore doesn't produce such definite tan lines) or because the book is absolutely hilarious while also endearing, I started reading as soon as I laid down. As any practiced sunbather has probably done, I held the book at such an angle as to not block any part of my body. Hey, an even tan is a good tan, right? I spent the next hour and 20 minutes (flipping over half way through, of course) turning page after page, all the while giggling and at times, tearing up with emotion. If you've ever felt like your Dad was hard on you as a kid or even as an adult, read this book. It will help you understand and appreciate the lessons he was probably trying to teach you at the time.

Books or magazines aside, laying out to me is like Church for some. The second my skin touches the towel and the sun warms my face, I feel at ease. I'm reminded that there is a power bigger than us. I specifically remember one Winter that seemed to last too long... it must have been early April before temperatures reached the mid 70s, acceptable bikini weather. (Anything below 74 is a bit chilly, even in the sun. Believe me, I've tried it more than once.) When I was finally able to season my wintry white skin, it was like I had just floated up to heaven. I felt my body sinking into the lawn chair like it was a puffy cumulonimbus cloud...and the rays of sun energize my soul like Red Bull gives those cartoon characters wings. I guess a little bit of me feels like that each and every time I lay out.

Another Summer behind us, I must bid farewell to my 2010 days of sunbathing... Halloween is almost here and then comes Thanksgiving: not exactly pool weather. I look forward to welcoming the month of March (although there have been times, 1999 & 2005, when I was able to get sun kissed as early as January) when I know my 2011 tan will begin. Until then, Sun, shine brightly on my Summer-bound friends Down Under.

Monday, September 27, 2010

"I'll have the Fish Tacos and a Mango with no salt, please"

When I walked into Z Tejas on a referral to apply as a hostess way back in 2003, I had never tried their food. I was hired and therefore enjoyed the free training meals provided as standard practice. Although I don't remember the first thing I tried, all I know is that I keep going back.

Here we are in present time, September 27th, 2010 and I have just devoured another plate of the ever-so-delicious Z Tejas Catfish Tacos. Not only are they irresistible to the point that even when I intend to get something different, (because all of it REALLY is SO GOOD) my mouth starts to water thinking about their one of a kind Asian Dipping Sauce. You'd think I know how to make it since I worked there for 2 1/2 years, but nope. I guess some things are meant to stay a mystery.

What else must I consume while taking in the delight of one of the three Z patios? A frozen Mango Margarita (or three), of course. No salt, please. Just the perfect blend of creamy fruit puree and tangy tequila... there's nothing else like it.

Other stanbys include the Ahi Tuna Appetizer, Queso, Shrimp Tostada Bites, Fried Snapper, Miso Salmon, the Mushroom or Seafood Enchiladas, Chicken Avocado Sandwhich, Diablo Pasta... and you can't forget about the salads! The servers used to tease me that I was having my usual "Ranch Soup" when I took the liberty of making my own salads back in the day... I probably did over do it. But it was so good! Apart from the House Z Salad with their homemade Ranch, the Pecan Crusted Chicken, Jerk Chicken and Trout Salads are to-die-for. It's honestly hard to decide each and every time.

When I was finally able to dine at Z Tejas without feeling like I still worked there, it occurred to me that it was the food that kept bringing me back. Not the joy of seeing old buddies or that I live within walking distance of the place, but that I and everyone I know genuinely love the food. That's why I was a bit worried that the menu would change when Jack Gilmore, Executive Chef (and the genius that wrote Z's menu) left to open his own place, Jack Allen's, which is just as awesome, but on the opposite side of town. Who was I kidding? If I was able to recognize that it's the food that draws the crowd in, surely the big wigs know how important it is.

The most astonishing thing about some of my favorite dishes at Z is that they include two ingredients that I cannot stand. Some people don't believe me, but I don't like bacon. I never have and never will. In fact I hate it. I hate the smell, the texture, the taste-everything about it. So what kind of dressing does the Pecan Crusted Chicken Salad have? A warm bacon vinaigrette. And I love it! Mainly because it happens to not taste much like bacon to me and instead lures me into submission with the warm goat cheese and perfectly cooked chicken.

The second thing I despise is cilantro. I never really knew why I didn't like it until someone pointed out that it tastes like soap. How did I not put my finger on this before?! It has such an aroma, like a terrible perfume that has expired and sat in the sun. The idea that people like the way that tastes just blows my mind. But, I hear it's a genetic thing: You either have the palate for it or you don't. I still don't understand why my sister feels the same way about bananas. Bananas! Anyway, the Pan Fried Snapper is drenched in a cilantro pesto cream sauce. Alas, it does not taste like cilantro to me. I think it is because they got 2 out of 3 right: pesto and cream vs. the lone cilantro. Either way, it's the one thing with cilantro in it that I can eat without making faces you'd think were reserved for hangovers.

And with such a wallet-pleasing happy hour (1/2 priced apps and $1 off margaritas from 4-7 in the whole place), I can enjoy my fish taco and mango pair for a cool $11.55. Who can resist?? Not to mention the free-with-food-purchase cornbread. Psst! The secret to how moist they get it is Plain Dannon Yogurt.

So... as a tribute to my once employer and now favorite food provider, I will make one statement: If I were to have to eat at one restaurant for the rest of my life, Z Tejas would be it. Take that, Taco Bell.

Sunday, September 26, 2010

Just Another Coupon Saturday

A few Saturdays ago, Mr. Boyfriend and I decided to actually make some use out of our Saturday time together and run errands we had been talking about for weeks. On the itinerary? Three different places for which I had some sort of a coupon. And I don't mean a measly 35-cents-off-a-jar-of-peanut-butter kind of coupon... I had some real savings heading my way!

Our first stop was Gage Furniture, where we would look for an office chair. We chose to visit the location with which I was not familiar, but it worked out in our favor because they happened to be having a moving sale- everything was marked down at least 50%! After coming to the quick realization that we didn't like either of their desk chairs, we took a look around anyway. My $100 Groupon only cost me $25, so I was determined to get something... maybe just a lamp??

We were feeling very defeated on our way out, and then we saw it: The coffee table of my dreams. It was sleek and beautiful, just the right size! And at only $199, we would only pay $100 out of pocket! Mr. Boyfriend saw it another way: He asked h
imself "Is this overpriced table worth $100?" My answer: "Yes." Not only was it on sale, but we were saving another $75 thanks to Groupon. He wanted to take the let's-make-a-deal approach when the hovering sales guy came over, but once I heard that the price on the coffee table included two matching side tables, I couldn't contain myself: "Sold!" I exclaimed... Mr. Boyfriend just shook his head and laughed while I was as giddy as a school girl. Just look at it!!

Original Price of Furniture: $359
Clearance Sale Price: $199
Groupon ($25) Credit: $100
Actual Cost of Tables: $125
Total Furniture Savings: $234
****************************************************************************************************************
Our next destination was for an early dinner. Mama Fu's has proved to be a quick and easy, not to mention delicious alternative to P.F Chang's on a Saturday night when you don't feel like waiting an hour for a table. I had just purchased their $10 for $20 Groupon the day before and felt very efficient for using it so quickly. We sat down at 5:30pm and proceeded with our drink orders: He had a Kirin Ichiban while I enjoyed a Pinot Grigio. Still on my coffee table high, I was excited about everything. Until a young girl's voice pierced our conversation bubble with talk about an itchy belt at the mall. It was like she was sitting right next to me with a megaphone. It was either really bad acoustics or this girl was actually that loud. Maybe it was both.

I was annoyed for about 30 seconds, then realized how entertaining it was now that I was engaging myself in her stories. She had obviously just started middle school by her bragging about how she knew the first half of the spanish alphabet- she even recited it with the typical adolescent nervousness, "Wait, I messed up. Let me start over." She also went on about the Louisiana Purchase and other bits about history... all with such enthusiasm I couldn't help but admire her a little. I don't ever remember being excited about school, especially right after summer (aka freedom) had ended.

As she and her family left the restaurant and had to walk past the booth in which Mr. Boyfriend and I were sitting (3 over from hers, might I add) I got a good look at her. If I hadn't been preoccupied with the concept of the distraction in the first place I would have taken the opportunity to tell her parents to be proud, although I'm sure they already are. I turned back to Mr. Boyfriend and told him that I would be thrilled to have our child be so excited about school and I can only hope they will be. We then toasted to education.

Groupon Savings: $10
Happy Hour Savings:$13.50
Total Savings on Dinner: $23.50
*****************************************************************************************************************
We don't get out to movies very often, and I like to think it's because there are better things to do with our time together than sit in a dark room and not speak to eachother. Mr. Boyfriend thinks it's because we have very different interests in film and we can't ever agree on what to watch. This is probably the actual reason.

He had been wanting to see a few different movies for a while, so it was his turn to pick. The only restriction of my $5 Adealio tickets was that they were only valid for films that had been out 12 days or longer. No problem. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World had been out for 22.

I consider myself to be a pretty cool girl in terms of doing boy-type stuff. I play disc golf, I love baseball games... I have even begun enjoying beer lately. But this movie was just stupid. Aside from the fact that the main story line was that of romantic comedies, it combined everything boy. And I don't mean man, I mean boy. The whole video game structure of the movie got on my nerves while Michael Cera was just the same awkwardly soft-spoken guy he always plays. It wasn't the worst, it just went on too long. Mr. Boyfriend really enjoyed it, though, so at least I've earned my credit to make him go see Eat, Pray, Love. Hah.

Original Movie Ticket Price: $9.50 (x2)
Adealio Ticket Price: $5.00 (x2) (But because I bought them with my pre-purchased half priced Adealio bucks, they really only cost me $2.50 each)
Total Movie Savings: $14.00

***************************************************************************************************************

Total Savings for the day: $271.50. Yup, just another coupon Saturday.

Like saving, too? Join Groupon though my referral link and we'll both earn Groupon Bucks when you buy your first deal! It's really that simple.
http://www.groupon.com/r/uu669379

Adealio is another Groupon-like site that also offers up to 90% off one day deals. Now go get some!
http://www.adealio.com/

And you can't forget about Living Social. Second in command to Groupon, they've got their act together. You won't be sorry you joined, I promise.
https://livingsocial.com/redeem_invite/2633937-julia_?ref=lnk



Friday, August 27, 2010

Fion... Irish for "Flip Flops"

Hailed to another new restaurant by my "Groupon"-crazy purchasing, we graced the Steiner Ranch location of Fion Wine Pub with our presence Wednesday evening. Our server graced us with his open toes.

Now I want to be clear about where I stand
(pun intened) with feet... they don't bother me one bit. I wear sandals all the time, even during Austin winters. But when I see (and can hear) a server in a restaurant, going in and out of the kitchen, flip-flopping to and from my table, I'm shocked.

Once again, my background in the service industry allows me to be privy to health codes, let alone the standard restaurant employee requirements. Never in my life have I seen a server, at any level of service, wearing flip flops on the job. Just as I began to forgive this little calamity, my eyes were drawn to the open kitchen by the bright red Keds, yes Keds, that the male pizza dough-rolling Chef was wearing!
To top off the hilarity, they looked like they were 2 sizes too small... I guess I should say at least they were closed toe. How could I get such a detailed description, you ask? He was wearing shorts!! Another commerical kitchen faux-pas. Needless to say all we could do is giggle.

Beyond the comical entertainment of the evening, the food was pretty good, if not average. That is, after we finally found our way around the menu. They were copy-room quality with cheap lamination and spiral notebook-like binding... you couldn't tell the back from the front and they kept falling apart. If L hadn't have been there to joke about it, I would have let it get to me. Instead, we just laughed.

We started with a cheese duo to pair with our wine: a White Goat Cheddar and basic Double Creme French Brie, served with water crackers, chopped pecans, walnuts and dried cherries. We requested honey to complete the spread. For the price, the portions were bigger than expected- perfect appetizer for four, but it would have been too much for just two people.

Since we had inhaled our cheeses, it came time to decide what was next. We opted to share a few plates for the table because we figured the portions would follow suit. We were right. The Summer Salad was a large bowl of flavorful quartered tomatoes, sauteed red onion, basil pesto and what were supposed to be garlic croutons but were actually soft chunks of red wine vinaigrette-soaked sourdough. Fine by me... this was actually my favorite dish of the evening. Sweet and savory, soft yet crunchy. I like it when everything comes together like that.

After deciding that the mussles, shipped in on Thursdays and Saturdays as noted on the menu, would not be a smart choice on a Wedneseday, we ordered the Jumbo Shrimp, simply grilled and soaked in a buttery white wine sauce as well as more yummy bread. My only qualm with this is that the shrimp weren't Jumbo, but rather run-of-the-mill. Oh, well.

Then came the entrees. Although there seemed to be many listed, we struggled to find two that we all wanted. Out came the Chicken Piccata and the 16oz. Pork Chops. The two breasts of chicken were drenched in butter and capers, dressed with wilted spinach while the Pork Chops were topped with carmelized onions, gorgonzola crumbles, butternut squash and potatoes and swimming in a sweet, almost gravy-like demi glaze. It sounds better than it was. Both meats were on the dry side, which is hard to believe since there was so much sauce on the plates. The butternut squash was underdone yet the potatoes overdone. And there was barely any gorgonzola.

On to dessert. A said he had seen something come out of the kitchen earlier that looked amazing, so we trusted him.Vanilla ice cream sandwiched in between two sugar biscuits, topped with hot strawberry compote. Although in this case it was more like soup, delicious nonetheless. It was gone in about 25 seconds. If you have the patience to make your own sugar biscuits, this would be an easy dessert to serve at your next dinner party.

While I don't live in Steiner Ranch, I can see why this place stays afloat. If you were to head out of the neighborhood, the closest sit-down restaurant is about 15 minutes away. Fion is within walking distance of some of those homes and probably a safe choice for the wine lovers like moi. I probably won't be back; however if I did live there and decided to walk over, I promise I wouldn't be wearing my flip flops...







Monday, August 16, 2010

Take Me Out To The Ball Game


Although I tried my best to resist succoming to the cheesy emotions that washed over me as I hummed along to our National Anthem, tears filled my eyes while I stood with my hand over my heart in Section 121, Row 2, (yes, row 2!) Seat 6 at Dell Diamond. Was it the Star Spangled Banner that evoked this joyous nostalgia? Not quite.

As I composed myself beneath my sunglasses I decided it was the fact that I was about to enjoy another baseball game under the bright lights in Round Rock. It was the Umpires gathering around Home Plate in their trademark grey pants, the orange dirt blowing in the air, and yes, the overpriced drink I had in my hand.


The tradition and history of baseball runs deep in this country. As a 25 year old girl who almost flunked history, I can only state that my genuine appreciation runs deep because of my years of experiences (tradition, we'll say) while playing at Balcones Little League. (Which, if you've ever talked to anyone that played at Balcones for any amount of time, is a common feeling between us all.) Sweating my ass off under the catcher's mask, running the bases like my life depended on it, and celebrating after each game with a free "suicide" soda are some of my favorite childhood memories.

After falling in love with a movie I still quote today, I used to think I could find my own "Sandlot". And as I drive past Balcones over 10 years since I last played on those fields, I can see the lights, listen to the "clang" of the bats and realize it was just as magical as the rundown diamond in the movie. (Minus the big scary dog, of course.) It's this personal connection with baseball that makes being part of it all over again so amazing, even if I'm just sitting in the stands.

I would like to take this moment to thank my parents for not only allowing me the opportunity to play Little League, but requiring me to partake in an extra curricular activity. I'm not sure I would have chosen to play if I hadn't been pushed: A life lesson I will pass down to my children... imagine that.

So, take me out to the Ball Game, take me out to the crowds! Buy me some peanuts and crackerjacks (I actually prefer a frozen margarita and a hot dog!), I don't care if I ever get back... So it's root! root! root! for the Home Team, if they don't win it's a shame! For it's one! two! three strikes you're out at the Old Ball Game!

Friday, July 2, 2010

Pure Awe

My childhood best friend just gave birth to a beautiful baby boy last Saturday... it was obviously 40+ weeks in the works, but man did it come quick!

After the scheduled induction at 7pm on Friday evening, I called to check in at 8am: Barely any progress. After an almost sleepless night, I took my time getting out of bed and into the shower to prepare for what seemed like was going to be a long day. The cereal box was in my hand when my cell phone rang. Her barely-there, not-sounding-like-herself voice told me we "better come" because she was "already at 9". My heart started to race. I was a solid 20-25 minutes away as it was, but I had to go in the opposite direction to pick up her Mother. I grabbed my purse and dashed out the door. My hair was wet, thank God I had already put my shoes on... but I couldn't even spare a moment to brush my teeth.

My hands were shaking as I scrambled to lock the front door of their house at which they so kindly let me stay. I sped down the road at least 20 miles over the speed limit towards her Aunt's house. I'm lucky I didn't get pulled over because if I had been delayed even 5 minutes I would have missed it.

With soon-to-be Grandmother in tow we were finally headed toward the hospital. Thanks to a few shortcuts we were well on our way. The quicker-than-normal 15 minute drive felt like an eternity. My mind kept racing, wondering what she was going through and how I should be there... we had been talking about this for months now and it was actually happening! I had come all the way to Houston just for this and damn it, I was going to be there!

The red lights were driving me insane. My fingers were twitching, my toes were tapping... my phone kept getting texts. I was at the last red light, just one block from the hospital, when I received the message "She's pushing!" That's when I ran it. Nothing was going to keep me from experiencing this baby's birth, especially not some silly traffic signal.

I didn't even close the car door at the valet stand... the gentleman chased me into the elevator to give us our claim ticket. Two floors up and I sprinted down the hallway. I still wasn't there yet! One person had to come out before I could go in. Those 30 seconds almost broke me. The doors flew open and I took off again. I was out of breath when I burst inside to find I was right on time. Three last little pushes and Baby C was born. It was absolutely incredible, to say the least.

It's just surreal that E, a girl I've known since the days of middle school sleepovers, is now a real, live Mother of her own child. I always knew this day would come, but where has the time gone??? It's perfectly ironic that she, the only one of our close circle of girlfriends that is an only child, had a baby first.

Baby C is just amazing. There are no words to describe the admiration and astonishment I feel toward his parents and him. E is so brave to even enter this chapter in her life, but to see her in positive spirits during such a vulnerable (both mental and physical) challenge is awe-inspiring. And the love she and A have for eachother warms my heart... Witnessing the whole process really helped me be able to look forward to those moments in my eventual future.

Thanks to everyone at Texas Women's Hospital, especially Dr. Lesley Davis, for taking such good care of my precious people. It was truly a weekend I'll never forget.

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

Rolling into Wednesday on my Rollerblades


All day today I kept thinking it was Monday... I even questioned the Tuesday special (pasta instead of the usual Monday special, meatloaf) when I went next door to get my lunch. Although a bit frustrating, it is absolutely glorious to know that tomorrow is already Wednesday, the first of two days during the week Mr. Boyfriend (he's asked me to refer to him as such, hah!) and I get to spend together. Maybe I'll take my rollerblades for another spin... yes, rollerblades! They are the inner-thigh workout you thought you'd never get!

I originally got some green ones for Christmas when I was 8 and promptly broke them in and learned how to skate backwards, thanks to my uncle who was visiting that year. They took me well into middle school where my Friday nights were spent at Playland Skating Rink- holla!! I even took the time to rotate the wheels every once in a while.

After years of sitting in my closet I decided to give them one last run back in 2003. I eventually gave them to Goodwill thinking I wouldn't ever need them again. But who really ever NEEDS rollderblades?? I guess I ignored the possibility that I would want them again.

So here I am, 18 years after my first pair and I bought new ones. Trusty Academy had some cute purple ones for only $35... I thought it was a fair price, right? Other than the fact that I really need an 8 1/2 and had to get a 9, they're great! My hour long trek last Wednesday proved to be a sweaty one, but breezy nonetheless. How did I forget that skating is so much more fun that walking? And how do I still remember how to skate backwards after all these years?

I've decided that they should change the saying "It's like riding a bike" to "It's like rollerblading" since apparently even though I ditched my training wheels when I was 3, I can't handle two wheels at the age of 25. Sorry, Mr. Boyfriend- maybe in our next life. Until then I'll be rolling on four wheels with my own two feet.

Friday, May 28, 2010

Busy is Fun!!

Does anyone else enjoy staying busy as much as I do?? I'm not talking about with board meetings and soccer practice, I'm talking about chores: Good ole housework!
There's a certain excitement that washes over me on the days that I've actually made it out of the office on time and am headed home... it's like a Christmas morning gift: the hours that I know I have ahead of me to do all the things that have been put on hold because I've been at work.

I get home and immediately write down all the things I intend to do that evening, if I haven't already brainstormed in the shower before work. Always on the list: "work out". Never on the list: "relax". Mr. Boyfriend tells me I don't relax enough. But as I sit here writing this, I feel relaxed. This is my version of vegging out in front of the TV watching American Idol (a show which I choose to ignore, by the way).

Other things usually on the list: kitty litter/trash, water plants, vacuum, HEB, etc. Normal things that other people despise, I love! Call it what you want, some call it OCD; I call it neat and organized. I recently read about the behavior and symptoms associated with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder... I probably fall into the category of people that act compulsive (contantly making lists, arranging things so they're "just so", etc.) without having the actual disorder. So there! ;)

So next time you see me at HEB in my workout clothes, ask me what I'll be doing later. The answer probably won't be "nothing".

Monday, May 17, 2010

Not your normal work out videos...

If you like to find new ways to work out and you haven't discovered SparkPeople.com yet, you're in for a treat. You'll find dozens of videos to switch up the boring old routines! And for free!!

Forget waiting for the treadmill at the gym...
Just visit http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/fitness_videos.asp and voila! Almost too many to choose from! And you can do them at any time! Like right now- I just finished my set and it's 12:14am!

And if you like Lady Gaga as much as I do, you'll find her songs go perfectly with the kickboxing videos... here's my favorite:
Pair these two together- it might take a few times to memorize Coach Nicole's movements, but once you do it's so fun!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAsClx87DaM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlX_Gy4HP2E

And seriously, if this doesn't make you sweat, I don't know what will. It's awesome after a long day of sitting on your ass at the office.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3YBnm2ZJNCM

You can thank me later.



Sunday, May 16, 2010

Just For Fun: More than just a name.

For a while now a friend and I had been talking about renting a boat to take out to Lake Travis. The reason for delay? We couldn't bring ourselves to spend upwards of $600 (!!!!) for just one day of fun. So when Just For Fun Watercraft Rental offered half price Ski Boat rentals through the "Groupon Mini-Me" email giant, LivingSocial, we leaped at the opportunity.

We decided to use our 3 hours this past Saturday, May 15th, 12:30-3:30pm. About two weeks ago I called to make a reservation and noticed the lack of professionalism with which Brandon, the college-age-sounding guy on the other side of the phone, had while speaking to me. I brushed it off and felt excited that we were finally going out on the boat!!

Monday, May 10th rolled around and Mark Murray, my favorite weather man, was forecasting rain for our day on the lake! My pessimistic side thought "Of course it hasn't rained in three weeks and the day we need it to be sunny it's going to pour", but my optimistic side decided to put it on the back burner and wait until Friday to be upset. We all know Austin weather can change in an instant.

A humid and soggy Friday, May 14th arrived and I checked the updated hour-by-hour forecast for Saturday. The "60% chance of Thundestorms" had transformed into "mostly cloudy with 20% chance of showers". And we all know what 20% means... it looked like although it woudln't be a sunburned day we had wanted, at least we would be wet only from swimming in the lake.

About mid-morning I received an expected text from my girlfriend who was coming in town from Houston just to be on this boat we had reserved: "I looked up the weather and it should be less cloudy in the afternoon, so let's push our reservation back." I agreed.
I picked up the phone to adjust our time to 2-5pm. Lizzie, the person I was speaking to this time, informed me my reservation was no where to be found. And to make it worse, told me she wasn't surprised that it happened because I had spoken to Brandon. A moment of panic washed over me before I said with desperation "Well I hope there is still a boat available for us!". She assured me there was and confirmed that I would be booked for 2-5pm. I felt frustrated with my corrrect judgement of Brandon from 2 weeks before, but relieved that Lizzie sounded more confident and attentive. Only 24 hours until we'd be on the water!

Saturday, May 15th: Lake Day! I woke up at 11:30am and immediately rolled over to see if the light coming through the blinds was actual sunshine or just the oddly bright glare the overcast skies can sometimes shed... Bingo! The sun was out!! The Gods had listened and parted the clouds for us. Or so it seemed.

We arrived at Emerald Point Marina at about 1:45pm for check-in. The moment we entered the floating office I could tell it was a chaotic day for them. They were understaffed, the phones were ringing off the hook and there was a line out the door. I heard the manager mention "Everyone cancelled when it was gonna rain, then the sun comes out and all hell breaks loose." He was right. Just For Fun doesn't require reservations and walk-ins are welcome... a recipe for disaster if you ask me, but I'm a bit neurotic with my planning. My guess is that half of the 30 people in line didn't call ahead like I did (twice).

My boyfriend and I made it to the front of the line and presented my name for our 2:00pm booking. "I don't see it here..." she said. Then the girl she was working with pointed to my name, which was written at 12:30-3:30pm. Once again, panic washed over me- except this time it was mixed with pure shock. How on earth could two separate people, on two separate occasions, fuck up my reservation?? That's when I decided that Just For Fun wasn't only the name of the business, it was the work ethic of Brandon and Lizzie.

If I could offer any piece of advice for anyone that ever makes a reservation, no matter how big or small, GET THEIR NAME. It's a good thing I did because I was able to firmly say who I had spoken with both times I called and it got us on a boat. Although they didn't seem interested in making sure we would be coming back (we asked for a free tube worth $5/hr and they said no), at least they were willing to offer us a boat that would have been otherwise unavailable at that time. I would now like to apologize to whomever didn't get on the water yesterday because of Brandon and Lizzie's mistakes.

Our 3 hours flew by as we thought it would, but it turned out to be a perfect mini-expedition. The boat was nice, the sun never hid and the water was just right. We tubed, wakeboarded, went to see Mansfield Dam and The Oasis from the water side view... and our beloved Iguana Grille, a spot from which I've gazed at the lake dozens of times, now I was gazing at it's brightly colored umbrellas from down below. If only I could have had a yummy melon margarita like I would be if I were sitting up there...

My overall one word rating for the day: Pleasant
Overall rating for Just For Fun: Disappointing

Although I'm sitting here wishing I would have bought more than just one deal... maybe I'm more forgiving than I thought...

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Fino: I want to love it.

I recently visited Fino on a perfect April Saturday evening... the not-humid-yet breeze was blowing and we had just visited the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center to take pictures of the amazing blooms all this wonderful rain had produced. Of course I was in the mood for some yummy dinner and drinks; not to mention I had a trusty $25 Restaurant.com gift certificate that I had purchased for only $2. That's right. Two dollars.

We arrived just before sunset and were seated on the patio
... a larger table than I would have preferred for two, but nonetheless we snagged the last outdoor spot. I was relishing in the fact that we were out to dinner on a Saturday evening, something we rarely get to enjoy. Happy as can be, we ordered our drinks. Although an avid white wine drinker, I decided on the cocktail special of the evening: The Garden Party: Paula's Texas Lemon with strained Poteet Strawberries and fresh basil, muddled and strained, shaken with Gin...Presented beautifully in a martini glass with a fresh basil leave floating on top like a toy sail boat in the bathtub...Even at $14, it was delicious!

Our small plates arrived: Fried Goat Cheese with Red Onion Jam and Honey. (my choice) One word: Heaven! and Fried Calamari (his choice) One word: Mediocre. We gobbled them up as we decided to share an entree, the Market Fish, which was Halibut that evening... very light and refreshing. They even went the trouble of splitting it for us so we could each have our own delicate sample. Understated yet sophisticated. I was impressed.

Until I tried to order my second drink. Up to this point our server had been attentive yet elusive. A great combination, if you ask me. She's there when you need her but doesn't want to talk your ear off about how she's from Nebraska and can't believe how hot it is already. Coming from working within the restaurant industry a while, I've experienced my share of the good, the bad, and the talkative, if you know what I mean.

I enjoyed my Garden Party Cocktail; however my recent love affair with Sparkling Wine would lead me to a request that would apparently offend the bartender. I thought it would be over-the-top amazing if I could substitute the gin in my cocktail for the Prosecco they had on their 'By The Glass' menu. I knew it wasn't such a far fetched request, however here is the lackluster response I received:
Waitress: "Ummm... the bartender doesn't really like to change his recipes."
Me: "Really???"

Momentarily, I thought she was joking. I paused, immediately requested that she check with him, and then the overall disappointment flooded in:
Waitress: "Ya... he said he can't shake the prosecco in the shaker tin, so we can't do it."
My Boyfriend (who coincidentally bartended for 15 years): "You can't just muddle everything and top it with the Prosecco? You really don't have to shake it."

Still no relief. It came down to me ordering a $12 glass of Prosecco and topping it with the last little sip of the pink strawberry-basil bliss I had just enjoyed. So there! That wasn't that hard, was it? I mean, if the roles were reversed, I would have told that damn bartender to get over himself and think about what you're doing... saying no to a customer. And what am I doing now?? Blogging about how disappointing it was.

They're lucky they have that quaint patio or I might not want to come back. Fino: I want to love it...
http://www.astiaustin.com/fino/